Regulatory Governance
Standing Group

Regulation in the Age of Crisis


The Standing Group on Regulatory Governance of the European Consortium for Political Research ECPR and the Regulation Network are organizing their Third Biennial Conference from June 17 to 19, 2010 at University College, Dublin in Ireland.

The Biennial Conference of the European Consortium on Political Research Standing Group on Regulatory Governance is the leading interdisciplinary conference on regulation held in Europe and regularly attracts papers from all over the globe and from disciplines including political science, law, accounting, business, sociology, economics, international relations, anthropology, public administration and other cognate disciplines. The Majone Prize will once again be presented to the best paper at the conference by an early career researcher.

The program includes keynote lectures by Adrienne Héritier (EUI) -"Self-regulation by Industry in the Shadow of Hierarchy: Emergence, Effectiveness and Legitimacy"- and Michael Moran (University of Manchester) -"Regulation, Self-Regulation and the Financial Crisis".

This conference will be held at University College Dublin and is hosted by the UCD School of Law, UCD School of Politics and International Relations, UCD School of Business, UCD Global Finance Academy, The Institute of Public Administration and Trinity College Dublin. An international Academic Steering Committee is working with the local organising committee on the programming for the conference.

Overview of the University College, Dublin

Dublin is an exciting venue for this conference. As a small open economy Ireland has been at the forefront of regulatory innovation across a range of domains, including financial and environmental. Ireland is a small but significant player in European and World affairs and political and economic commentators take a close interest in its contribution and response to current economic difficulties. In addition to being a major centre for financial services, Dublin has three universities ranked in the THES global top 300 and is a very popular destination both for conferences and tourism because of its strong air transport links, mix of heritage sites and modern infrastructure and facilities.

James Joyce bridge - Image courtesy of Dublin TourismImage courtesy of Dublin Tourism.


Perceptions of crisis in finance, corporate governance, climate, equality, security and other areas simultaneously invoke blame and heightened expectations for the activities of regulatory regimes. In this conference we welcome panels and papers addressing the following indicative themes and other themes relating to regulatory governance:

Go to the beginning of the document

Call for Papers

Proposals for Panels (of between 3 and 5 papers) or papers should include titles, abstract(s) (300 words), name(s) and email address(es) and be submitted to the chair of the local organising committee no later than 15 January 2010 (extended to January 31st 2010). If submitting a paper please indicate preferred theme(s) and/or up to 6 keywords.

The organisers hope to be able to offer a number bursaries to support the participation of PhD students and academics from emerging economy countries The programme will be available from the end of February 2010, with details of booking, registration costs, bursaries and accommodation published at that time.

General Post Office - the focal point of the 1916 Easter rising which led to independence for Ireland in 1922 - Image courtesy of Dublin TourismImage courtesy of Dublin Tourism.

Go to the beginning of the document

Giandomenico Majone Prize

The ECPR Standing Group on Regulatory Governance has created the Giandomenico Majone Prize for papers presented at its biennial conference.

The prize is in honor of Giandomenico Majone for his outstanding contribution for the study of regulatory governance in the European Union and well beyond it.

This award recognizes outstanding research by scholars in early stages of her or his career in the field of regulatory governance from all relevant disciplinary backgrounds. The Prize is limited to scholars having completed their PhD no more than seven years before the deadline for submission.

For more information see: Giandomenico Majone Prize.

Go to the beginning of the document

Local Organizing Commitee and International Academic Steering Committee

Local Organizing Commitee

Administrative Support

International Academic Steering Committee

Go to the beginning of the document